June Adventure Summary

June 2015

What an adventure June was!  Between a whirlwind trip to India and trying to get work done in lab, I was exhausted by the end of the month.

The month started with a quick 10-day trip to India for my cousin’s wedding.  This is officially the shortest trip I’ve ever taken to India, and it was brutal.  I don’t think I ever recovered from jet lag there, and by the time I got back to Chicago, I was jetlagged all over again.  The trip was wonderful though; it has been two years since I last saw my family, so it was great to see everyone at the wedding.

 

Preparing my cousin for the wedding

Me preparing my cousin for the wedding

On my last day there, I went out shopping with my cousins, and though I wasn’t really intending to buy much, I came back loaded down with several bags full of saris and dresses.  We had a great time going through the shops and making our selections, and my cousin and I even bought matching saris!

Matching saris that we bought many years ago

Matching saris that we bought many years ago

I was tired when I got back to Chicago, but I had to get over my jetlag quickly because one of my good friends was visiting me the very next weekend!  We played tourist in Chicago a little bit, visiting places like the Chicago Botanic Garden and M.henry, one of my favorite brunch places.

Blooming rose at the Chicago Botanic Garden

Blooming rose at the Chicago Botanic Garden

Rose Garden

Rose Garden

At the end of the month, I finally made it to one of the places that has been on my Chicago Bucket List for years: the Shedd Aquarium.  I went wanting to see sharks, and I got my fill of sharks and all kinds of other aquatic life.

Colorful fish at the Shedd Aquarium

Colorful fish at the Shedd Aquarium

I spent the rest of the month recuperating from the heat and excitement of India and preparing for some fun weekend trips in July, including Wisconsin and Colorado!

What were you up to in June?

2 responses to “June Adventure Summary

Leave a Reply

