May Adventure Summary

May 2015

May is when the Chicago winter finally starts to melt away.  The weather hints at being warm enough to be a teaser for those of us who long for better weather, but the temperature fluctuates often, interspersing mild days with days cold enough to make me want to huddle in my apartment until summer.

In a single evening, I went from running outside in a t-shirt to shivering my way home through a winter coat.  The persistently changing weather is one of the reasons that May was such a heavy travel month for me.  I wanted to get out of Chicago and go somewhere that actually has spring and spring weather.

The month started off with a visit from my brother.  We hung out around Chicago and went to the Chicago Botanic Garden with some family friends.  The tulips were in bloom, making for colorful displays all over the gardens.

Tulips in Chicago Botanic Garden

Tulips in Chicago Botanic Garden

Next up was a Civil War-themed trip to Washington DC.  My friends and I spent the weekend touring battlefields in Maryland and eating excellent vegetarian food.

Monocacy Battlefield

Monocacy Battlefield

Monocacy Battlefield

Monocacy Battlefield

Monument in Antietam Battlefield

Monument in Antietam Battlefield

The end of the month brought a long weekend for Memorial Day and my second international trip of the year.  I went to Canada for the first time, spending the weekend exploring the sights and tastes of Toronto.  I had a great time, and I’m already looking forward to my next trip to Canada!

CN Tower in Toronto

CN Tower in Toronto

Toronto Skyline

Toronto Skyline

STATISTICS

Number of trips: 2

Number of flights: 4

Number of bus trips: 0

Number of train trips: 0

Number of car trips: 1 (Washington DC to Maryland)

Cities visited: 3 (Washington DC, Frederick, Toronto)

Countries visited: 2 (United States, Canada)

Highlight of the month: Eating amazing food in Toronto

Fail of the month: Getting interrogated by Canadian immigration about why I had never been to Canada before

Favorite photo: I love this picture of a display of pearls that I took in Toronto at a jewelry store we stopped in as we were wandering around the city.  The colors and textures were so tempting that I bought a couple of strands of colored pearls to have made into a necklace.

Pearls in a Toronto jewelry shop

Pearls in a Toronto jewelry shop

Favorite food: The food in Toronto is fantastic, but one of my favorite things was this crazy waffle brunch that was my first meal there.

Waffle brunch

Waffle brunch

May was a busy month!  Up next in June: things only get busier with a whirlwind trip to India for a family wedding!

What were you up to in May?

4 responses to “May Adventure Summary

    • I just told them I’d never had a reason to go. 🙂 I think they were offended by that though… I was in Hyderabad! Have you been? My cousin was getting married so I was there for a week, but I’m planning on going back in November for longer and going to see family in Ahmedabad and friends in Mumbai and Delhi.

Leave a Reply

