January Adventure Summary

January 2015

I realize I’ve been a bit MIA lately.  It’s happened in real life too.  Lab has kept me busy for the past few weeks, and I’ve been too exhausted to contemplate doing anything that’s not sleeping when I get home.  That unfortunately means that I haven’t been doing much writing or traveling.  The madness should subside a little bit by March, and I’m hoping I’ll be able to breathe a little bit and do some adventuring.

I’ve still got lots to write about from though.  I’m not even close to caught up on all of the wonderful adventures I had last year, and I’m excited to share them.

As you’ve probably guessed, my January was pretty boring.  I worked a lot and didn’t do much.  The highlight of the month was a friend’s visit, and we had all kinds of plans to do a culinary tour of Chicago.  However, it was not to be.  A combination of a blizzard and a canceled flight meant that she had to leave early, and I ended up sitting in my pajamas and drinking tea instead of exploring Chicago.  We’re determined that there will be a next time though, and we’ll get to do all of the fun things that we had planned.

The one day that we did get to spend eating our way around Chicago was fabulous.  We went to Vogue Fabrics, which is an enormous independent fabric store that is dangerously close to where I live.  I could see myself blowing through my entire income there.  It was actually the first time that I’d been, and I ended up buying some fabric to make myself a top.  In keeping with the theme of this blog, it has yet to be finished, but in all fairness, it’s only been a week since I bought it.  I’ll keep you updated on the progress of that project.

Our foray into the crafting world was followed by a delicious brunch at one of my favorite brunch places in Chicago, m.henry.

Blisscakes French Toast

After stuffing ourselves full, we made it a block before discovering that there is a yarn store about a block from the restaurant.  We went in and admired all of the nice yarns, but I managed to walk out without buying anything.  I have to say, this truly was a day to tempt my inner Id.

The rest of the day involved some work (apparently I’m incapable of staying away, even on the weekends) and a lot more food.  Even though my friend’s visit got cut short, we managed to eat quite a bit and I’ve still got a list of food that we have to try on her next visit!

That’s all for January, and February will be another month filled with work.  If I do manage to make it until the end of the month, I’ll be heading off for my first (and likely only) international trip of the year, Panama.  No statistics for this month, since I didn’t actually do anything, but there will be more fun things coming soon!

3 responses to “January Adventure Summary

  1. Pingback: #Take12Trips Trip 1 of 12 | The Unfinished Travel Project·

Leave a Reply

