2014 In Numbers

The engineer in me loves numbers and numerical data.  I am sometimes obsessive in how I keep track of my daily life, and this time of year, I usually analyze whatever data I’ve accumulated over the past 12 months.

This year was fairly travel heavy for me, and I traveled far more than I usually do, so I thought it would be fun to analyze my trips.

Hawaii Sunset

So here are my travel statistics for 2014:

GENERAL

Number of trips: 17 (San Francisco, Houston, Washington DC, Japan, Denver, San Francisco, Denver, Madison, Seattle, Denver, Minnesota, Washington DC, Denver, Philadelphia, Denver, Hawaii, Denver)

Number of countries visited: 2 (USA, Japan)

Number of cities visited: 19 (San Francisco, Houston, Washington DC, Denver, Tokyo, Kyoto, Nara, Hiroshima, Santa Cruz, Seattle, Tacoma, Minneapolis, New York City, Philadelphia, Princeton, Honolulu, Kona, Hilo, Lihue)

TRANSPORTATION

Number of flights: 38

Number of bus trips: 4

Number of cars rented: 7

Number of miles flown: 48644

Number of miles driven: approximately 2000 (I didn’t do a very good job of keeping track of this)

UNITED STATES

Number of National Park sites visited: 20

Number of states visited: 12 (California, Colorado, Hawaii, Illinois, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Texas, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin)

Number of new cities visited: 12 (San Francisco, Santa Cruz, Seattle, Tacoma, Madison, Honolulu, Kona, Hilo, Lihue, Philadelphia, Princeton, Houston)

FOOD

Number of new foods tried: 5 (shaved ice, Burmese curry, kati rolls, ramen, gyoza)

Number of Taco Bells visited: 3 (San Francisco, Denver, Honolulu)

BUDGET

Average trip budget: $660.40 This doesn’t include my trips to Denver, since I am always visiting family there.

Most expensive trip: Japan (April 2014)

Least expensive trip: San Francisco (February 2014)

Happy New Year everyone!  May 2015 be a wonderful year for all of you!

2 responses to “2014 In Numbers

Leave a Reply

