October Adventure Summary

October 2014

I have to confess.  I am really glad that October is over.  Normally, I love taking weekend trips to break up the monotony of traveling between school and home, but this year has been out of control.  I was traveling for 3 straight weekends in October, which was exhausting, and I’m quite glad that I don’t have anything planned for November except for a trip home for Thanksgiving.  Thankfully, trips home are usually good for relaxing and recharging, so I’m looking forward to that.  On a positive note, I did have a chance to see fall colors all over the country, which was beautiful.

I spent the beginning of October digging myself out from under a pile of work that had accumulated during my trip to Washington DC at the end of September.  I had a couple of weeks to relax and get caught up.

The second weekend of October, I went to a friend’s wedding in downtown Chicago.  The day after the wedding, they hosted a brunch at the top of the Hancock Tower, and I spent a lot of time marveling at the wonderful views.

View of downtown Chicago from the Hancock Tower

View of downtown Chicago from the Hancock Tower

During the week, I took some time to go photograph the fall colors around campus.  All of the leaves are gone now, and I miss the chorus of reds, golds, and oranges that I used to enjoy every morning on my way to work.

Fall colors on campus

Fall colors on campus

I went back to Colorado the weekend after the wedding to spend a few days with my family.  It was a nice, relaxing trip, filled with lots of eating and sleeping.

The last weekend, I went to New Jersey and Philadelphia for a wedding and some sightseeing.  It was my first trip to Philadelphia, and I only had time to visit some of the important historical sites in the city, such as Independence Hall, where the Declaration of Independence was signed.

Fall colors in New Jersey

Fall colors in New Jersey

Independence Hall

Independence Hall in Philadelphia

November will be a month of work, with a trip home at the end of the month for Thanksgiving.

Where did you go in October?

Leave a Reply

