September Adventure Summary

September 2014

September was a busy month!  I took several weekend trips, and as a result, I’m still trying to unearth myself from beneath a giant pile of work.  Work aside, I very much enjoyed exploring a couple of different cities this month as well as visiting some familiar places.

I spent the first part of September in Colorado at my parents’ house.  The theme of the trip was rest and relaxation, which I did with a vengeance.  I also ate a lot, including several pounds of fresh pears and apples from the trees in the backyard.

Pear tree in the backyard

Pear tree in the backyard

The next weekend, I took a trip to Minneapolis for a friend’s wedding.  Really, it was an excuse to explore a city that wouldn’t otherwise have been on my radar.  I had a fantastic weekend in Minneapolis, learning the history of this midwestern city.

Mill Ruins Park in Minneapolis

Mill Ruins Park in Minneapolis

Minnehaha Falls

Minnehaha Falls

I was supposed to go camping in September, but a combination of work and uncomfortably cold weather made me cancel the trip.  Hopefully, I’ll get another chance in the spring.

My birthday is at the end of September, so I engaged in a number of birthday-themed activities, mostly revolving around food.  I spent an entire weekend gorging myself at all of my favorite restaurants and went to a Chicago Cubs baseball game for the first time.

Wrigley Field

Wrigley Field

At the end of the month, I spent a few days in Washington DC, visiting some friends.  I had the opportunity to do a number of touristy things that I’ve never done before, even though I’ve been to DC many times.  It was nice to play tourist and experience some of the amazing things that DC has to offer.

Washington Monument

Washington Monument

I also had the opportunity to go to a public address given by the prime minister of India in New York City.  With nearly 20,000 people in attendance, the atmosphere was incredible.

Modi at Madison Square Garden

Prime Minister at Madison Square Garden

It was a very unique experience, and I enjoyed it immensely.  I also got to play tourist for a few hours in NYC, which is something I haven’t really done.

George Washington statue outside Federal Hall

George Washington statue outside Federal Hall

September was also a month in which I started to attack my Autumn Bucket List.  I did some running through my neighborhood and near the lakefront to step up my training for the race I’m running in November.  The weather has been great for running, and I’ve been looking forward to my evening runs.  

The weather has also been cool enough to turn on the oven every once in a while, so I made some fall-themed treats, including a berry pie.  I also started working on my goal to make a number of pumpkin dishes by spending an evening making pumpkin cream cheese muffins.  They were a little dense, but otherwise tasty, so I’m calling that experiment a success!

Berry pie

Berry pie

Pumpkin cream cheese muffins

Pumpkin cream cheese muffins

Now, it’s back to the grind in Chicago.  I’ve got to get caught up on my life a little bit before my next adventure!

STATISTICS

Number of trips: 3

Number of flights: 1

Number of bus trips: 2

Number of train trips: 0

Number of car trips: 2

Cities visited: 4 (Denver, Minneapolis, Washington DC, New York City)

Countries visited: 1 (USA)

Number of national parks visited: 3 (National Mall, Federal Hall National Memorial, Castle Clinton)

Highlight of the month: Celebrating my birthday in Washington DC!

Favorite photo: I took this photo at sunset near the Mississippi River.  I especially like the outline of the boat against the water.

Mississippi River at Sunset

Mississippi River at Sunset

Favorite food: My birthday dinner was my first eating Burmese food.  This pumpkin curry was amazing!

Pumpkin Curry at Myanmar

Pumpkin Curry at Myanmar

What were you up to in September?

Leave a Reply

