Experiencing Pike Place Market

I have a fascination with markets, the bigger, the busier, the better.  There is something about the commotion and visiting different vendors to buy what you need that I find exciting.  In the age of self-checkout lanes at the supermarket, there is a distinct charm in interacting with so many different people to do your shopping.

I’d heard of Seattle’s Pike Place Market before, but I wasn’t expecting it to be anything special.  Maybe it had something to do with the fact that I had already fallen in love with Seattle, but it only took a few minutes for me to be completely enchanted.  The Pike Place Market is so lively and vibrant, with a mix of tourists and locals going about their business.

Selfie at the Pike Place Market

Selfie at the Pike Place Market

On this sunny Sunday, there were performers showcasing their talents while visitors milled about and watched.

Piano player at the Pike Place Market

Piano player at the Pike Place Market

Hula hooping

Hula hooping

Inside, vendors were selling everything from fresh fish to flowers.  There were several stalls selling fruits and vegetables, including some of the most delicious peaches I’ve eaten in recent memory.

Fruits and vegetables

Fruits and vegetables

Colorful piles of produce

Colorful piles of produce

Prices didn’t seem too exorbitant either, though I don’t have a good idea of how much food normally costs in Seattle.

My favorite stalls were the ones selling fresh flowers.  In general, I don’t like buying flowers because they are so expensive and last for such a short period of time.  However, I had no qualms about marveling at the beautiful displays of flowers.  They were much cheaper than flowers normally are and much fresher.

Bouquets of fresh flowers

Bouquets of fresh flowers

Colorful flowers in a bouquet

Colorful flowers in a bouquet

The market also had a number of stalls selling baked goods and fresh apple cider among other tasty-looking snacks.  Although I only spent a couple of hours wandering around, I could easily have passed a whole day exploring and people watching while sampling treats.

As I was leaving, I spotted this pig, the mascot for the Pike Place Market.  There is a larger bronze pig near the entrance to the market, which is used to collect donations to help low-income families in the neighborhood.  I love what the pig stands for, and I’m happy that the popularity of Pike Place Market with tourists is being harnessed in order to help the community.  Plus, the idea of a farmers’ market having a mascot is rather entertaining.

Pike Place Market

Pike Place Market

I was sad to not have gotten to spend more time at Pike Place Market, but I am glad that I got a taste of it.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to explore some more the next time I make it to Seattle.  And if I ever move to Seattle, you can be sure that I’ll be spending many weekend mornings there.

What do you think of farmers’ markets versus supermarkets?

6 responses to “Experiencing Pike Place Market

  1. Great post! Here in the UK I love to visit farmers markets. I prefer to support local producers and engage with them on a personal level. I feel I get first class produce,great value and good customer service!

  2. Pingback: How I choose my travel destinations | The Unfinished Travel Project·

  3. Pingback: Mt. Rainier National Park | The Unfinished Travel Project·

  4. Pingback: 2014 Year in Review | The Unfinished Travel Project·

  5. Pingback: 2014 In Numbers | The Unfinished Travel Project·

Leave a Reply

