July Adventure Summary

July 2014

Since I’m perpetually behind on writing about my adventures, I thought I’d start doing a monthly summary to tell you what I’ve been up to during the month!  There may be months where this summary will say “commuted between lab and home”, but if that happens, I’ll try to make it sound more interesting than it actually is!  I’ve got some more fun things planned for the rest of 2014, and I’m excited to write about them.  Plus, this is an additional incentive for me to get out and do something every month, even if it’s just going for a walk around Chicago.

July was supposed to be a month of working hard, but I still found time for a couple of weekend trips.  During Independence Day weekend, I hopped on a bus and headed to Madison to visit a friend.  We ate good food, chatted, and crafted while watching cheesy movies.  We also made a trip to New Glarus to visit the brewery and the Swiss village, which was lots of fun.  I’m not normally much of a beer drinker, but the fruit beers at New Glarus are perfect for my taste, and I also found a couple of other beers that I liked quite well.  New Glarus beers are only sold in Wisconsin, so I brought a 6-pack back to Chicago with me on the bus, which earned me some interesting looks.

New Glarus Brewery tasting patio

New Glarus Brewery tasting patio

At the end of the month, I went to Seattle for a friend’s wedding and spent the rest of the weekend exploring the city and the national parks around the area.  I went hiking in Mt. Rainier National Park and Olympic National Park.  After a weekend of sunshine, hiking, and eating too much, I decided that I want to move to Seattle.  I guess we’ll have to see if that actually ends up happening.

Seattle skyline

Seattle skyline

Mt. Rainier National Park

Mt. Rainier National Park

Hiking in Olympic National Park

Hiking in Olympic National Park

It was a good month overall!  August promises to be a quieter month for travel as I need to spend some time in lab if I’m ever going to graduate.  Here are some travel statistics for July.

STATISTICS

Number of trips: 2

Number of flights: 2

Number of bus trips: 2

Number of train trips: 0

Cities visited: 3 (Madison, Seattle, Tacoma)

Countries visited: 1 (USA)

Number of national parks visited: 2 (Mt. Rainier and Olympic National Parks)

Highlight of the month: I bought a shiny new camera and have been learning how to use it!  My trip to Seattle was its maiden voyage, and I’m quite pleased with it.

Favorite photo: I saw these beautiful lilies on a street corner in northern Chicago and could resist stopping for a quick (or not so quick) photo shoot.

Lilies on a street corner in northern Chicago

Lilies on a street corner in northern Chicago

Favorite food: On my trip to Seattle, I stopped in at a vegetarian noodle restaurant called In The Bowl for some delicious udon noodles and vegetables.  It was spicy and delicious!

Udon noodles and vegetables at In The Bowl

Udon noodles and vegetables at In The Bowl

What were you up to this month?

6 responses to “July Adventure Summary

  1. Love your monthly summary. Your month was much more interesting than mine – work, home, work, home. But I’m planning a bridge climb so that gives me something to look forward to for September. BTW, I loved Seattle when I visited many years ago while staying with friends in Kennewick.

    • Some months, work takes over everything! Bridge climb sounds fun, though I think I would get tired halfway and fall off or something. Good luck! Seattle is such a fun city, and it’s so close to good outdoor activities. I’m already looking forward to taking another trip there.

  2. I would also like to live in Seattle one day (except for the rain maybe). Looks like the new camera is working a treat too, you’ve got some good photo’s there.

    • Thanks! I love the camera, and it;s been a lot of fun learning how to use it. I’m pretty sure one of the reasons I liked Seattle so much is that it didn’t rain at all while I was there.

Leave a Reply

