Meatless Monday: Butternut Squash Soup

On select Mondays, I’ll be sharing recipes for delicious vegetarian dishes.

I love the idea of soups, but I tend to stay away from them because they take a long time to make.  Recently though, I’ve been experimenting with quick soups, trying to find recipes that are ready in under an hour.  Butternut squash soup is one of my favorites, and inspired by the butternut squash soup in a sourdough bread bowl served at Boudin Bakery in San Francisco, I usually pair it with a nice piece of crusty bread.

Fancy bread loaves at Boudin Bakery on Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco

Fancy bread loaves at Boudin Bakery on Fisherman’s Wharf in San Francisco

This particular recipe is one of my fall favorites.  I’ve made it for big Thanksgiving dinners and as a quick meal for myself after I get home from work.  I love that it’s easily scaled, and for the most part, it doesn’t require much babysitting, meaning that I can get other things done while it’s cooking.  The only special equipment required is an immersion blender, but I’ve made it plenty of times using a regular blender.  With the weather continuing to be slightly chilly here in Chicago, I’ve been looking for more light and warm dishes like this one.

Butternut squash soup

Butternut squash soup

So, without further ado, here is the recipe.

INGREDIENTS

1 large butternut squash, with skin removed and cut into cubes
1 small onion
1 tbsp butter (can also use vegetable oil)
6 cups vegetable stock or water
Salt
Freshly ground black pepper
Nutmeg

DIRECTIONS

1. Melt butter in a large pot over medium heat. Cut onion into approx 1 cm pieces and add to pot.  Allow onion to cook until slightly browned and translucent.
2. Add 6 cups vegetable stock or water to the pot.  Allow liquid to come to a boil.
3. Add butternut squash pieces into the pot and cover.  Simmer until squash is cooked, approximately 20-30 minutes.
4. Turn off stove and allow to cool.
5. Use an immersion blender to blend the squash and onions until the soup reaches a thick consistency.  If it is too watery, let it cook a few minutes longer on the stove until some of the liquid boils off.
6. Add salt as necessary, 1-2 tsps ground nutmeg, and freshly ground black pepper to taste.
If you have any good ideas for vegetarian soups, I’d love to hear them!
4 responses to “Meatless Monday: Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Pingback: Autumn Bucket List: Butternut Squash Soup | The Unfinished Travel Project·

  2. Pingback: Autumn Bucket List: How Did I Do? | The Unfinished Travel Project·

  3. Does this taste anything like the one at Boudin? I have been searching for a copycat or actual recipe for ages!

    • I think the soup at Boudin includes cream, which I don’t like, so I omitted it. I’ve tailored this recipe more to my tastes, so it probably doesn’t taste exactly like the one at Boudin.

Leave a Reply

